Feeling : Inspired

I know it’s a long shot that I’ll ever be able to make a career out of making things. I know it’s a long shot that I’ll even be able to indulge my creative side proportionately – by that I mean devoting even a fraction of the time and energy that I devote to things I don’t want to do, like house work and work work… That’s life. At least for now it is.

I’m sure artist types would be the first to tell you that their job is no picnic either. I can’t imagine trying to squeeze out a morsel of creative genius when your head/heart/hands are just not in it. Like blood from a stone. For all the times I feel like making something, or picking up my camera, or writing a bit, there are plenty of times I don’t. So for now at least, I am happy enough that my work has no audience and that this truly is a personal space where I can come and go as I please.

Other times I am overwhelmed by the desire to create something beautiful. These moments come when I experience beauty that others have masterminded. I feel inspired.

Like the first time I heard this song, or this one.

Like when I looked at these photos from my friend Erin’s engagement shoot.

Genius.

Give me chills, hair standing on end, genius.

It is an utter juxtaposition to write about anything I have ever created in the same post. I can’t think of an analogy that doesn’t sound completely feeble, but trust me. I don’t belong anywhere near this talent.

But you’ve got to start somewhere. So I took some photos, started a craft project, wrote down a new recipe and spent some time daydreaming… all the while listening to this song. And this one. And this one.

Leave a Reply

