Conversation

IMG_4956

This morning over a bowl of Special K, David turned to me and said

D: The panda lost her baby.

*Background – Tian Tian the giant panda at Edinburgh zoo was artificially inseminated in April and was expected to give birth this autumn at the Edinburgh Zoo. There was a bit of a media frenzy over the summer – it seemed that after the birth of Prince George the whole nation had baby fever.

Me: I know. Well at least I figured as much. I mean it’s all gone quiet and I figured they would have kept reporting it on the news if she was still pregnant. Like reporters camping out for 24 hour ‘panda watch’ coverage. That’s such a shame. I was looking forward to seeing the baby panda. I’ve never been to the zoo and I thought it would be a good excuse to go, once the crowds died down and everything. We could’ve made a day of it and gone to that Chinese restaurant that your mum recommended. What happened?

D: She lost the baby

He is a man of few words.

Leave a Reply

